Who Is This Man?

Hi, I am-.” Honestly, I don’t remember his name. He walked into our church with a shy smile and friendly handshake. His well-worn jeans and shirt hung loosely on his small frame. I do remember his character for something more than his clothes didn’t fit.

“I am a prophet.” His words captured the church’s attention as he proceeded to pronounce a generic prophecy over our congregation. Warning rang in my spirit. Some believed him  to be true but many did not. The few weeks he was among us proved the warning to be true.

The Gospel of John captures our attention as he relates, by the Holy Spirit’s direction, when a Man like no other walked into our world. Many would not believe his record but some would. John’s account proves to be true. A nameless blind man experienced the works of God when this Man healed him. He remembers His name.

“He answered and said,

A man that is called Jesus made clay…

one thing I know,

that, whereas I was blind, now I see.”

From John 9:11,25.

John gives clear sight from the beginning of the Gospel into this, man that is called Jesus.

This one called Jesus is the Word. He is God.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. The same was in the beginning with God.” (1:1,2)

  • “Who is the image of the invisible God,
  • the firstborn of every creature:
  • For by him were all things created…
  • all things were created by him, and for him:
  • And he is before all things,
  • and by him all things consist.” Colossians 1:15-17.

After witnessing Jesus’s miraculous signs and hearing His words, Peter testified to Jesus’s identity.

He is the Christ, the Son of the living God.

“Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go?

Thou hast the words of eternal life.

And we believe and are sure that

thou art that Christ,

the Son of the living God.”

(6:68,69).

This man call Jesus is the Christ. He is the One anointed with the holy oil of God to declare the Father’s glory and salvation.

“the patriarch David…being a prophet, and knowing that God had sworn with an oath to him, that of the fruit of his loins, according to the flesh, he would raise up Christ to sit on his throne; He seeing this before spake of the resurrection of Christ, that his soul was not left in hell, neither his flesh did see corruption…

  • “For thou wilt not leave my soul in hell;
  • neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy One to see corruption…Psalm 16:10;
  • Thou hast ascended on high,
  • thou hast led captivity captive:
  • thou hast received gifts for men; yea, for the rebellious also,
  • that the LORD God might dwell among them.

Blessed be the Lord,

who daily loadeth us with benefits,

even the God of our salvation. Selah.

He that is our God is the God of salvation…”

Psalm 68:18-20.

 This Jesus hath God raised up,

whereof we all are witnesses…

know assuredly, that God hath made that same Jesus,

whom ye have crucified,

both Lord and Christ.

Now when they heard this, they were pricked in their heart, and said unto Peter and to the rest of the apostles,

Men and brethren, what shall we do?

Then Peter said unto them,

Repent, and be baptized every one of you

in the name of Jesus Christ

for the remission of sins,

and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.”  

See Acts 2:29-38.

This man called Jesus is the Son of the living God.

“God…

  • Hath in these last days spoken unto us by his Son,
  • whom he hath appointed heir of all things,
  • by whom also he made the worlds;
  • Who being the brightness of his glory,
  • and the express image of his person,
  • and upholding all things by the word of his power,
  • when he had by himself purged our sins,
  • sat down on the right hand of the Majesty on high;
  • Being made so much better than the angels,
  • as he hath by inheritance obtained a more excellent name than they…

“Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him,

and given him a name which is above every name:

That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow,

of things in heaven, and things in earth,

and things under the earth;

And that every tongue would confess

that Jesus Christ is Lord,

to the glory of God the Father.”

Philippians 2:9-11.

“there is no God else beside me;

a just God and a Saviour;

there is none beside me.

Look unto me,

and be ye saved, all the ends of the earth:

for I am God,

and there is none else.

I have sworn by myself,

the word is gone out of my mouth in righteousness,

and shall not return,

that unto me every knee shall bow,

every tongue shall swear.”

Isaiah 45: 21b-23.

 For unto which of the angels said he at any time,

THOU ART MY SON, THIS DAY HAVE I BEGOTTEN THEE? 

And again, 

I WILL BE TO HIM A FATHER,

AND HE SHALL BE TO ME A SON?”

Hebrews 1:2-5.

“I will declare the decree: the LORD hath said unto me,

Thou art my Son;

this day have I begotten thee.”

Psalm 2:7

“And low a voice from heaven , saying

This is my beloved Son,

in whom I am well pleased.”

Matthew 3:17.

John says much more about this man called Jesus, which I hope to write about next time. But today, you who read, have this witness before you. Unlike the man who visited our church, I don’t ask you to receive my words but God’s. You may choose not to believe the words written in italics. These are words of truth. Your receiving or rejecting God’s word does not change the truth.

When you stand before this man called Jesus you will know, you will bow, and you will confess. I say this based on the authority of God Almighty. Now is the time to receive truth. Reject it now and stand before Him ashamed. Receive it now and stand before Him in his righteousness.

“Surely, shall one say,

in the LORD have I righteousness and strength:

even to him shall men come;

and all that are incensed against him shall be ashamed.”

Isaiah 45:24.

Are you among the spiritually blind or now do you see? Who do you say this man called Jesus is?

 

4 thoughts on “Who Is This Man?

Leave a comment