You and Jesus in Exodus

“This shall be a continual burnt offering throughout your generations at the door of the tabernacle of the congregation before the LORD; where I will meet you, to speak there unto thee.” Exodus 29:42

Thank you for your suggestions and comments concerning the characters you would like to see explored this week. Jonathan Sorenson asked for the priests to be included. I’m leaving that for Leviticus, because I felt the Lord leading another direction, His provision for you, my readers, and me as seen in the tabernacle.blog tabernacle

“This shall be a continual burnt offering…For the law having a shadow of good things to come, and not the very image of the things, can never with those sacrifices which they offered year by year continually make the comers thereunto perfect…Then said he, Lo, I come to do thy will, O God. He taketh away the first, that he may establish the second. By the which will we are sanctified through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.” Heb. 10:1,9,10.

“…at the door of the tabernacle of the congregation before the LORD; where I will meet you, to speak there unto thee…Behold I stand at the door, and knock; if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me… God is faithful, by whom ye were called unto the fellowship of his Son Jesus Christ…and truly our fellowship is with the Father, and with his Son Jesus Christ.” (Rev. 3:20; 1Cor. 1:9; 1John 1:3b).

“…and the tabernacle shall be sanctified by my glory…And the sight of the glory of the Lord was like devouring fire on the top of the mount in the eyes of the children of Israel… And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,)full of grace and truth… For the Son of man shall come in the glory of his Father with his angels; and then reward every man according to his works.” (Ex. 24:17; John 1:14;Matt. 16:27).

“and I will sanctify the tabernacle of the congregation…And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? for ye are the temple of the living God: As God hath said, I WILL DWELL IN THEM, AND WALK IN THEM; AND I WILL BE THEIR GOD, AND THEY SHALL BE MY PEOPLE. WHEREFORE COME OUT FROM AMONG THEM. AND BE YE SEPARATE, saith the Lord. AND TOUCH NOT THE UNCLEAN THNG; AND I WILL RECEIVE YOU. AND WILL BE A FATHER UNTO YOU, AND YE SHALL BE MY SONS AND DAUGHTERS, saith the Lord Almighty….Know ye not that ye are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you. (2Cor. 6:16-18; 1Cor.3:16).

“And I will dwell among the children of Israel…And if ye be Christ’s, then are ye Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise…I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me.”(Gal. 3:29;2:20a).

Every believer is the tabernacle of God. “Christ liveth in me.”  And He fills me with Himself.

  • Christ is my showbread.

“According as his divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue: whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.” 2Pet. 1:3,4.

  • Christ is my lampstand.

“Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.” John 8:12.

  • Christ is my altar of incense.

“Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word…the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.”(John 17:20;Rom. 8:26b).

  • Christ is my veil.

“And their sins and iniquities will I remember no more…Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way which he hath consecrated for us, through the veil that is to say, his flesh… Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” (Heb. 10:18,20;John 14:7).

  • Christ is my mercy seat.

“For the life of the flesh is in the blood, and I have given it to you upon the altar to make an atonement for your souls: for it is the blood that maketh an atonement for the soul… and he is the propitiation for our sins: and not for ours only, but also for the sins of the whole world”( Lev. 17:11; 1John 2:2;).

God’s plan for you is hidden in figures and types of the Old Testament, but is revealed and fulfilled in the New Testament through Jesus Christ. Believers are sanctified through His glory, His indwelling Holy Spirit.

What is sanctification and how does it happen?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “You and Jesus in Exodus

Leave a comment